WUOT http://wuot.org en No Breakthrough: 'Object Of Interest' Isn't From Missing Jet http://wuot.org/post/no-breakthrough-object-interest-isnt-missing-jet A large piece of metal found earlier this week on the coast of western Australia, which investigators had called an "object of interest" in the search for Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 and the 239 people who were on board, is apparently not connected to the missing jet.<p><a href="http://www.jacc.gov.au/media/releases/2014/april/mr036.aspx" target="_blank">The Australian Transport Safety Bureau reports</a> that "after examining detailed photographs of material washed ashore 10 kilometers east of Augusta, it is satisfied it is not a lead in relation to the search."<p>So, the "weeks of false lead Thu, 24 Apr 2014 11:33:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 17747 at http://wuot.org Amsterdam Mayor May Ban Pot In Red Light District, Court Says http://wuot.org/post/amsterdam-mayor-may-ban-pot-red-light-district-court-says A court in the Netherlands has upheld the mayor's efforts to ban marijuana cafes in an area that permits prostitution. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 11:20:00 +0000 editor 17746 at http://wuot.org Colleges Move To Ban Selfie Taking At Graduation Ceremonies http://wuot.org/post/colleges-move-ban-selfie-taking-graduation-ceremonies The University of South Florida told students to think about "the dignity of the ceremony" before attempting a selfie with the university president as she hands them their diplomas. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 11:20:00 +0000 editor 17745 at http://wuot.org Three Americans Dead After Shooting At Kabul Hospital http://wuot.org/post/three-americans-dead-after-shooting-kabul-hospital Three American citizens were killed Thursday at a Christian organization's hospital in Kabul, Afghanistan, when an Afghan security guard opened fire. Another American citizen was reportedly wounded.<p>Government spokesman Sediq Sediqqi says the gunman was shot and wounded and is now under arrest, NPR's Sean Carberry reports from Kabul. His gunshot wound may have been self-inflicted.<p>As Sean tells our Newscast Desk:<p><blockquote><p>"Attacks on foreigners have been on the rise this year. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 10:49:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 17744 at http://wuot.org Three Americans Dead After Shooting At Kabul Hospital With SuperShoes, Insoles Can Be Your Guide http://wuot.org/post/last-word-business-47 SuperShoes are squishy insoles that fit inside your shoes. Inside those insoles are "vibrotactile ticklers" linked to your mobile device. Enter a destination and the ticklers guide your way. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 09:22:00 +0000 editor 17743 at http://wuot.org Small Businesses Fight Big-Box Stores By Specializing http://wuot.org/post/small-businesses-fight-big-box-stores-specializing As online and mega stores take up more of the retail landscape, small mom-and-pop shops are getting more specific. We examine one of the ways small stores are looking to survive and possibly thrive. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 09:04:00 +0000 editor 17742 at http://wuot.org Obama: U.S. To Defend Japan In Territorial Disputes With China http://wuot.org/post/obama-us-defend-japan-territorial-disputes-china President Obama is in Japan for the start of his four-nation Asia visit. The trip aims to assure U.S. allies that they're not forgotten, even as China gets more bullish with its neighbors. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 09:04:00 +0000 editor 17741 at http://wuot.org U.S. Ramps Up Aid To Syrian Rebels http://wuot.org/post/us-ramps-aid-syrian-rebels The U.S. is increasing both arms and training assistance to the Syrian rebels. Advocates of the program say they hope to change the situation on the ground, others doubt it will help much. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 09:04:00 +0000 editor 17740 at http://wuot.org Bob Dole Returns To Kansas For Gratitude Tour http://wuot.org/post/bob-dole-returns-kansas-gratitude-tour In Kansas this week, a political icon returned home. Former Republican Sen. Bob Dole has been traveling the state, meeting with friends and supporters who embraced his long political career.<p>Dole is not running for office, but the 90-year-old has a tour schedule that could tire a politician half his age. He's made 10 public appearances over three days, including a stop at the University of Kansas in Lawrence.<p>Dole has touched on serious topics during the trip. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 07:50:00 +0000 Stephen Koranda 17736 at http://wuot.org Bob Dole Returns To Kansas For Gratitude Tour Why Bill Gates Fights Diseases Abroad, Not At Home http://wuot.org/post/why-bill-gates-fights-diseases-abroad-not-home This week in Seattle, Bill and Melinda Gates are attending a meeting of the minds.<p>Five-hundred of the world's top innovators in global health have gathered for the <a href="http://www.impatientoptimists.org/Posts/2014/04/Building-for-Impact-The-2014-Global-Health-Product-Development-Forum">Global Health Product Development Forum,</a> an annual event in which scientists, engineers, policymakers and activists work to develop new tools for fighting diseases.<p>Since the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation began in 2000, the nonprofit has invested a lot of money in education in the U.S. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 07:38:00 +0000 NPR Staff 17737 at http://wuot.org Why Bill Gates Fights Diseases Abroad, Not At Home