New York Philharmonic This Week on WUOT

Thursdays from 8-10 p.m.

An avid music-lover, host Alec Baldwin lends his Emmy Award and Tony Award-winning style to one of music's great institutions. Since its founding in 1842, the New York Philharmonic has been the apex for composers, soloists and conductors alike. Bringing to bear that 170-year history, The New York Philharmonic This Week offers the highest musicianship, insight and vision in every program.

(Programs subject to change)

March 2015

March 5
CONDUCTOR: Alan Gilbert
SOLOISTS: Angela Meade, soprano; Lilli Paasikivi, mezzo-soprano; Brandon Jovanovich, tenor; Eric Owens, bass-baritone; New York Choral Artists; Joseph Flummerfelt, director
VERDI: Messa da Requiem

March 12
CONDUCTOR: Alan Gilbert
SOLOIST: Jan Vogler
ROUSE: Phantasmata
BLOCH: Schelomo
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1

March 19
CONDUCTOR: Alan Gilbert, conductor
SOLOIST: Emmanuel Ax, piano
MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 25 in C major
BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 3

March 26
CONDUCTOR: Alan Gilbert
SOLOIST: Emanuel Ax, piano
HAYDN: Piano Concerto No. 11 in D-major
ROUSE: Symphony No. 3
WAGNER: A Ring Journey (arr Alan Gilbert     after Erich Leinsdorf)



February 2015

Feb. 5  Conductor: Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos
Soloists: Erin Morley, soprano; Nicholas Phan, tenor; Jacques Imbrallo, baritone; Orfeón Pomplona, chorus; Igor Ijurra Fernández, Director; Brooklyn Youth  Chorus; Dianne Berkun, Director
FALLA:  Selections from Atlantida
ORFF:  Carmina Burana

Feb. 12  Conductor: Alan Gilbert
Soloists: Emmanuel Ax, piano
J.S. BACH: Keyboard Concerto in d-minor
SCHOENBERG: Piano Concerto
MOZART: Symphony No. 36, Linz

Feb. 19  Conductor: Kurt Masur
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 3
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 4

Feb. 26  Conductor: Alan Gilbert
Soloist: Rudolf Buchbinder
BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6, "Pathetique"


January 2015

Jan. 1
MOZART: German Dance in C, K. 605, “Sleigh Ride”
 TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 1, “Winter Dreams”
 ARR: HENDERSON: Selections From WINTER HOLDIDAY, 1961-62
 PROKOFIEV: Peter and the Wolf, Op. 67
 STRAUSS, II: Overture to “Die Fledermaus”
 Jan. 8
Conductor: Alan Gilbert
 Soloists: Emmanuel Ax, piano; Jennifer Zetlan, soprano; Jennifer Johnson, mezzo-soprano; Paul Appleby, tenor; Joshua Hopkins, baritone; New York Choral Artists; Joseph Flummerfelt, director
 MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 22
 MOZART: Mass in C Minor, “Great”

Jan. 15
Conductor: Kurt Masur
Soloists: Yo-Yo Ma, cello; Sylvia McNair, soprano; Florence Quivar, mezzo; Stuart Neil, tenor; Rene Pape, bass; NY Choral Artists; American Boychoir
DVORAK: Cello C oncerto
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 9