Changing Course on WUOT-2

Saturdays at 1:04 p.m. on WUOT-2

Rachel Beach
Rachel Beach
Big Orange, Big Ideas. A grand statement about a university with worldwide reach. But what impact does the work and study being done at the University of Tennessee have on humanity? Each week, Changing Course asks that question, featuring discussions with UT professors, staff and students about the innovative projects they conduct at the Big Orange and what drives them to strive for Big Ideas. 

Hosted by Todd Steed, Changing Course is the first local program to be broadcast on WUOT-2. Tune in for Changing Course every Saturday at 1:04 p.m. during NPR’s TED Radio Hour. You can hear longer versions of Changing Course on iTunes

Saturday, November 29 & December 6: Artist Rachel Beach explains how disaster actually redefined her work. 

Saturday, November 8 & 15: Christine Holmlund discusses her popular film courses at UT.

Saturday, October 25: Alumni Distinguished Service Professor Gordon Burghardt discusses his UT Pregame Showcase before Saturday's UT-Alabama matchup.  If you have ever wondered if frogs play, don't miss this episode!

Saturday, October 18:  Associate Professor Dr. Kate Jones breaks down the complicated world of experimental nuclear physics. 

Saturday, October 4 & 11:  Writer and semi-retired English professor Anwar Accawi stops in for a great chat about his writing and teaching careers. 

Saturday, August 30, 2014: Did you know that UT has a Quidditch team? Senior Karissa Kirsch explains how this works.  Amazingly, it does work and it's not just for Harry Potter fans.

Saturday, August 23, 2014:  A look at the Land Between the Lakes. 

Saturday, August 9, 2014:  How did the modern light bulb come to exist?   

Saturday, April 24, 2014:  Beauvais Lyons discusses the unbelievable Hokes Archives.  

Saturday, March 29, 2014:  Geography professor Ron Foresta discusses his new book. 

Saturday, March 15, 2014: Co-Coaches Karen and Ralph Weekly talk about their Lady Vols Softball team and the 2014 season.

Saturday, March 8, 2014:  Lois Presser discusses her new book and explains why we harm.

Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014: Kerry Green discusses her unique study abroad experience in Uruguay.

Saturday, Jan. 25, 2014:  Heather Fritts explains the appeal of Free Family Fun day at McClung Museum.

Saturday, Dec. 14, 2013:  Mark Hairr, program director for the Center for Energy, Transportation and Environment, explains the 'charge' one can receive when bringing an electric car to campus.

Saturday, Dec. 7, 2013:  Mona' King, undergraduate in Biochemistry, discusses her experience in China.

Saturday, Nov. 30, 2013: Jordon Kuck discusses his Fulbright work in Latvia.

Saturday, Nov. 16, 2013: Christi Culpepper, GTA in Pyschology, addresses creative ways to deal with classes that tend toward the impersonal.

Saturday, Nov. 9, 2013: Dr. Rachelle Scott, associate professor of religious studies, discusses the evolution of the role of meditation in modern Buddhism.

Saturday, Nov. 2, 2013: Dr. Rachelle Scott, associate professor of religious studies, will discuss the role of spirits and ghosts in modern Buddhism in Thailand. Dr. Scott recently gave a talk on this subject as part of the College of Arts and Sciences Pregame Showcase. 

Saturday, Oct.  19, 2013: Rebecca Klenk, lecturer in interdisciplinary programs and affiliated faculty member with the Anthropology Department and the Disaster, Displacement, and Human Rights Program, has been awarded a Fulbright grant for the spring term of 2014. She will lecture and work with graduate students in the Anthropology Department at the University of Delhi in India. Along with teaching, she will develop new research on global educational restructuring, and collaborate with colleagues in India to plan a project on community experiences of, and educational responses to, Himalayan climate change.

Saturday, Sept. 14, 2013: Jennifer Akerman, Assistant Professor, UT College of Architecture and Design. Professor Akerman discusses the grafting of agriculture and architecture in urban environments.

 
Saturday, July 13, 2013: Kurt Butefish, Coordinator for the Tennessee Geographic Alliance, discusses the work the TGA does in improving geography education in Tennessee's primary and secondary schools. Part One.

Saturday, July 20, 2013: Part Two with Kurt Butefish
 
Saturday, August 3, 2013: Law professor Paula Schaefer discusses the tricky business of E-Discovery. (repeat)

Saturday, August 17, 2013:  David Jenkins, assistant professor of chemistry, who has received a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award.

 

Changing Course
2:39 pm
Fri October 24, 2014

Changing Course: Animals At Play

Credit www.farallones.org Bob Landis

 In the latest episode of WUOT's Changing Course, Gordon Burghardt discusses play throughout the animal world and his upcoming pregame showcase.

Read more