University of Tennessee http://wuot.org en ET Researchers Developing Preventative Treatment For Chemical Gas Attacks http://wuot.org/post/et-researchers-developing-preventative-treatment-chemical-gas-attacks <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>Researchers at the University of Tennessee and the Oak Ridge National Laboratory say they’re moving closer to the development of a drug that can be taken to limit the effects of a chemical gas attack.</p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 20151 at http://wuot.org ET Researchers Developing Preventative Treatment For Chemical Gas Attacks Work On Cumberland Strip To Begin Soon http://wuot.org/post/work-cumberland-strip-begin-soon <p><a href="http://www.cityofknoxville.org/cumberland/" style="line-height: 1.5;">The Cumberland Avenue overhaul project </a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">is about to make that all-important transition from discussion to construction.</span></p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:00:00 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 15527 at http://wuot.org Work On Cumberland Strip To Begin Soon UT’s Thompson-Boling Arena To Debut Revolutionary LED Lights http://wuot.org/post/ut-s-thompson-boling-arena-debut-revolutionary-led-lights <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">You may not remember what you were doing on the evening of February 3, 2013.&nbsp; But Andrew Wilhelm does.</span></p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 15206 at http://wuot.org UT’s Thompson-Boling Arena To Debut Revolutionary LED Lights Short Shopping Season Forces Retailers To Scramble http://wuot.org/post/short-shopping-season-forces-retailers-scramble <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As Holiday shopping seasons go, this has been a strange one.</span></p><p>For starters, Thanksgiving came six days later this year than last.&nbsp; “That’s significant,” says Ann Fairhurst, a retail professor and head of the Department of Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management at the University of Tennessee. &nbsp;“That’s six fewer days that the retailers have to capture those dollars and so they’re really pushing promotions all the way to Christmas.”</p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 09:30:00 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 12564 at http://wuot.org Short Shopping Season Forces Retailers To Scramble UT To Raise Its Minimum Wage http://wuot.org/post/ut-raise-its-minimum-wage <p>The University of Tennessee announced today it will raise the starting minimum wage for its workers by $.50 per hour in January, with another $.50 raise to follow six months later.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 18:03:11 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 11775 at http://wuot.org UT To Raise Its Minimum Wage UT Campus Slips One Spot Away From Top 25 Goal—Or Does It? http://wuot.org/post/ut-campus-slips-one-spot-away-top-25-goal-or-does-it <p></p><p>In 2010, then-Governor Phil Bredesen of Tennessee challenged the University of Tennessee with the goal of becoming a Top 25 public research university by the year 2020.&nbsp; Since then, UT-Knoxville Chancellor Jimmy Cheek has engaged in a relentless public campaign to make that happen.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 18:43:04 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 8061 at http://wuot.org UT Campus Slips One Spot Away From Top 25 Goal—Or Does It? UT Foundation Executive Fired Following Child Pornography Arrest http://wuot.org/post/ut-foundation-executive-fired-following-child-pornography-arrest <p></p> Thu, 30 May 2013 13:30:00 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 2983 at http://wuot.org UT Foundation Executive Fired Following Child Pornography Arrest Tennessee Sees Increase In Number, Variety Of Ticks http://wuot.org/post/tennessee-sees-increase-number-variety-ticks <p></p> Mon, 27 May 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 2761 at http://wuot.org Tennessee Sees Increase In Number, Variety Of Ticks UT receives permission to purchase, demolish three Fort Sanders homes http://wuot.org/post/ut-receives-permission-purchase-demolish-three-fort-sanders-homes <p></p> Tue, 21 May 2013 16:42:57 +0000 Matt Shafer Powell 2558 at http://wuot.org UT receives permission to purchase, demolish three Fort Sanders homes Sorting Out Concerns Over Fracking on the Cumberland Plateau http://wuot.org/post/sorting-out-concerns-over-fracking-cumberland-plateau <p></p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Brandon Hollingsworth 2499 at http://wuot.org