Frank James http://wuot.org en Are Democrats Trying To Energize The Base With The Race Card? http://wuot.org/post/are-democrats-trying-energize-base-race-card Few mixtures in American life are more emotionally combustible than the one formed by the combination of politics and race.<p>That helps explain why Democrats, in general, and President Obama, in particular, have tended to steer clear of overtly raising race as an issue to explain some of the opposition to Obama's presidency and agenda.<p>There seems to be a shift in recent days, however.<p>Top Democratic party officials have either directly or indirectly blamed race for some of the hostility to Obama, his policies, or both.<p>Rep. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:31:00 +0000 Frank James 17499 at http://wuot.org Are Democrats Trying To Energize The Base With The Race Card? Hillary Clinton's Presidential Chess Board http://wuot.org/post/hillary-clintons-presidential-chess-board If the jockeying before the 2016 presidential race is a game of political chess, the most powerful queen on the board would obviously be Hillary Clinton.<p>So much of what will happen in 2016 hinges on Clinton's decision on whether to run, which she has said she'll announce by the end of this year.<p>If the former secretary of state and New York senator enters the race, she reduces the space on the board for any competitors within her own party. That would be particularly true for the Democratic women mentioned as possibilities for national office.<p>Vice President Joe Biden or Maryland Gov. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:50:00 +0000 Frank James 17429 at http://wuot.org Hillary Clinton's Presidential Chess Board John Boehner Foe Targets 'Electile' Dysfunction http://wuot.org/post/john-boehner-foe-targets-electile-dysfunction <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9A8kq85Umco</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Frank James 17292 at http://wuot.org 5 Takeaways From The Equal Pay Debate http://wuot.org/post/5-takeways-equal-pay-debate This was the week that included Equal Pay Day, the point on the 2014 calendar to which the average female worker must work to match the average man's 2013 pay.<p>To mark the occasion, President Obama held a White House event Tuesday to sign executive orders aimed at providing more transparency about what federal contractors pay their workers. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 21:46:00 +0000 Frank James 17187 at http://wuot.org 5 Takeaways From The Equal Pay Debate Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense http://wuot.org/post/obama-and-al-sharpton-odd-couple-who-make-political-sense President Obama and Rev. Al Sharpton might at first seem like one of the odder couples in U.S. politics.<p>The president is by nature a super-cautious politician, measured in his rhetoric. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:38:00 +0000 Frank James 17138 at http://wuot.org Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist http://wuot.org/post/holder-plays-asparagus-card-against-gop-antagonist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTOCih4ZAAE</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 19:56:00 +0000 Frank James 17003 at http://wuot.org Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue http://wuot.org/post/politics-equal-pay-its-more-womens-issue The pay equity issue, which President Obama and Democrats are making a central theme of the 2014 midterm election campaign, is often framed as a women's issue. But Democrats are expecting it will also have crossover appeal to men.<p>For many men, it's a matter of self-interest: Two-income families are part of a long-term trend, as many families find two paychecks essential to cover the bills in an era of rising prices and stagnant, if not falling, wages.<p><a href="http://www.bls.gov/news.release/famee.nr0.htm">U.S. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 19:56:00 +0000 Frank James 17004 at http://wuot.org The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue You Could Be A 'New Republican' If You Agree With This Ad http://wuot.org/post/you-could-be-new-republican-if-you-agree-ad <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3ShchXHhOY</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Frank James 16860 at http://wuot.org You Could Be A 'New Republican' If You Agree With This Ad NPR Poll: GOP's Older Voter Advantage Slips From 4 Years Ago http://wuot.org/post/npr-poll-gops-older-voter-advantage-slips-4-years-ago The new <a href="http://media.npr.org/documents/2014/april/DCor_RR_graphs.pdf">NPR poll</a> had good news for Republicans and Democrats. As NPR correspondent Mara Liasson <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/03/298401923/npr-poll-obamacare-more-popular-than-president">reported</a> for <em>Morning Edition</em>, likely voters were nearly split evenly between support and opposition to the Affordable Care Act, with 51 percent against and 47 percent for.<p>That could be interpreted by partisans on both sides as helpful to their cause. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 19:23:00 +0000 Frank James 16791 at http://wuot.org NPR Poll: GOP's Older Voter Advantage Slips From 4 Years Ago Campaign Finance Ruling Winners: The Political Pros http://wuot.org/post/campaign-finance-ruling-winners-political-pros The Supreme Court's <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/13pdf/12-536_e1pf.pdf">McCutcheon decision</a> has been described both as a victory for the First Amendment and as another damaging blow to campaign finance laws.<p>One thing seems certain: The decision, which overturned limits on the aggregate amounts individual donors can give to candidates and campaigns, will mean more money sloshing around political campaigns.<p>In practical terms, that means more business for the political consultants who orchestrate most serious federal political campaigns.<p>"Campaigns have been on the sh Wed, 02 Apr 2014 22:36:00 +0000 Frank James 16758 at http://wuot.org Campaign Finance Ruling Winners: The Political Pros