Eleanor Beardsley http://wuot.org en Firefights And Fallen Separatists, As Ukraine Offensive Advances http://wuot.org/post/firefights-and-fallen-separatists-ukraine-offensive-advances Early Thursday morning, the Ukrainian military moved into towns held by militants. Firefights and casualties have been reported at a number of different locations. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:53:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 17774 at http://wuot.org Moscow Answers Ukrainian Offensive With Warning Of Its Own http://wuot.org/post/moscow-answers-ukrainian-offensive-warning-its-own Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Russia's Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov warned today that his country would respond if its citizens or interests came under attack in Ukraine. The warning came as the interim Ukrainian government ordered a new offensive against pro-Moscow militants occupying government buildings across Eastern Ukraine. NPR's Eleanor Beardsley reports from Donetsk.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: As the threat of real war heats up, so does the propaganda war. One of the things journalists have been hearing a lot lately from people here is the word pravda, or truth. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 17715 at http://wuot.org Amid Ukraine's Faltering Hopes For Peace, Biden Speaks In Kiev http://wuot.org/post/amid-ukraines-faltering-hopes-peace-biden-speaks-kiev Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Vice President Joe Biden warned Russia today that it must join in efforts to reduce tensions in Ukraine. Biden was in Ukraine's capital, Kiev, and it looks like last week's international agreement to disarm militant groups in that country is failing. Ukrainian president says the security service will resume an anti-terrorist operation following the discovery of two bodies in eastern Ukraine. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 17652 at http://wuot.org Eastern Ukraine Town Sent Reeling After Checkpoint Killings http://wuot.org/post/eastern-ukraine-town-sent-reeling-after-checkpoint-killings The killing of three people at a checkpoint in the eastern Ukrainian city of Slaviansk has increased tension in the town, where a government building is being occupied by pro-Moscow militants. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 17604 at http://wuot.org Ukraine's Divide, Too Broad For Easter To Bridge? http://wuot.org/post/ukraines-divide-may-be-too-broad-easter-bridge Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin. Ukraine celebrates Easter today as a divided country. Last week, world leaders met in Geneva to try to tamp down the crisis and end the occupation of government buildings by pro-Russian militants. So far, nothing has happened. Hoping the holiday will calm tensions, Ukraine's interim defense minister called an Easter truce. But despite their common faith, many feel the divide between Ukrainians in the east and west may be too large to heal. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 17539 at http://wuot.org Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://wuot.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 16906 at http://wuot.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://wuot.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:11:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 16262 at http://wuot.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://wuot.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 16149 at http://wuot.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://wuot.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 16003 at http://wuot.org Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://wuot.org/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 15964 at http://wuot.org