Latino USA on WUOT-2 http://wuot.org en SabidurĂ­a: Lessons In Longevity http://wuot.org/post/sabidur-lessons-longevity Pianist and composer Irving Fields was born in Brooklyn in 1915. After hearing Latin music in Cuba, he became one of the foremost interpreters of American-style Rumba. He's still performing today. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 21:41:00 +0000 editor 17496 at http://wuot.org Cosby Represents http://wuot.org/post/cosby-represents As an entertainer, Bill Cosby included Latin music and many Latino actors. Host Maria Hinojosa and producer Daisy Rosario talk about what seeing Latinos represented in Cosby's work has meant to them. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 21:41:00 +0000 editor 17497 at http://wuot.org Salsa Is Food, Not Music http://wuot.org/post/salsa-food-not-music We call the music salsa, but is that really the right name? We talk to our guests about salsa as a marketing term, whether or not it's a rhythm, and what we really mean when we say salsa. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 21:41:00 +0000 editor 17498 at http://wuot.org The Kumbia Queers http://wuot.org/post/kumbia-queers Six gay punk rockers walk onto the stage, play their tropical punk and pissed off other rockers. The Kumbia Queers is no punch line. They're for real. Listen. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:03:00 +0000 editor 17190 at http://wuot.org Discussing the Future of Pot http://wuot.org/post/discussing-future-pot To make legal or not? That is the question on the marijuana debate. Maria Hinojosa talks with drug historian and author Kathleen Frydl about the many sides of pot. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:03:00 +0000 editor 17191 at http://wuot.org Prescription Drug Smuggling http://wuot.org/post/prescription-drug-smuggling Prescription drugs are cheaper to buy in Mexico. Now, smuggling these legal drugs across the Texas-Mexico border has become a problem. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:03:00 +0000 editor 17192 at http://wuot.org Lessons from #CancelColbert http://wuot.org/post/lessons-cancelcolbert When The Colbert Report tweeted about a joke from the previous show, it sparked explosive arguments about race, satire and who is allowed to be offended. And lessons learned from writer Tomas Rios. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 editor 16856 at http://wuot.org Happy White History Month! http://wuot.org/post/happy-white-history-month You may not know that April is White History Month. Latino USA producer Brenda Salinas reports on what this (fictional) recognition means to the proud non-Hispanic white peoples of America. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 editor 16857 at http://wuot.org Poem: "Backwash" http://wuot.org/post/poem-backwash We end with an audio poem from Chicago-based radio producer Anthony Martinez. "Backwash" is a tough lesson about the claustrophobic effects of the male gaze. Cristina Correa provides the voice. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 editor 16855 at http://wuot.org Sabiduria: Learning Latino http://wuot.org/post/sabiduria-learning-latino Latino USA's producer Camilo Vargas hails from Colombia. He identifies himself as a Latin American, not Latino, and discovers the true meaning of being Latino in America. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:44:00 +0000 editor 16530 at http://wuot.org