Emily Harris http://wuot.org en Israel's Ultra-Orthodox Put Faith In Unorthodox Dating Service http://wuot.org/post/israels-ultra-orthodox-put-faith-unorthodox-dating-service Yael Mizrachi, a 33-year-old Israeli woman, has been to many matchmakers.<p>"Too many," she says, rolling her wide dark eyes and tossing her shoulder-length hair.<p>Matchmakers are the traditional way to find a mate in the ultra-Orthodox Jewish community to which Mizrachi belongs. But she is not entirely traditional.<p>"I identify myself as a modern ultra-Orthodox," Mizrachi says.<p>Mizrachi is part of a growing number of ultra-Orthodox Jews in Israel who are seeking job skills, getting higher education or joining the military. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Emily Harris 17392 at http://wuot.org Israel's Ultra-Orthodox Put Faith In Unorthodox Dating Service Stay Or Go: How Israeli-Palestinian Peace Would Redefine Home http://wuot.org/post/stay-or-go-how-israeli-palestinian-peace-would-redefine-home More than 1 million Arabs are citizens of Israel. And over the years, some 350,000 Jewish Israelis have moved to settlements in the West Bank. If the Israelis and Palestinians were to make peace and set a formal border, what would happen to all these people?<p>The vast majority of Arab Israelis are Palestinian. Most belong to families that either stayed in their homes during the war following Israel's 1948 declaration of independence or fled to areas that wound up on the western, or Israeli side, of the cease-fire line. They hold Israeli passports and enjoy the rights of citizenship. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 19:09:00 +0000 Emily Harris 16793 at http://wuot.org Stay Or Go: How Israeli-Palestinian Peace Would Redefine Home Israeli Prisoner Release Steps Toward Peace And Draws Controversy http://wuot.org/post/israeli-prisoner-release-steps-toward-peace-and-draws-controversy Israel is preparing a prisoner release as part of the peace process with Palestinians. Arab citizens of Israel are set to be let go, a move more controversial than releasing non-citizen Palestinians. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:36:00 +0000 Emily Harris 16476 at http://wuot.org In A 'Brilliant' Move, Hamas Puts A Woman Out Front http://wuot.org/post/brilliant-move-hamas-puts-woman-out-front Isra al-Modallal is the first woman to be the public face of Hamas, the conservative group that rules the Palestinian territory. "Brilliant" is how one Gaza observer describes the decision. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 11:50:00 +0000 Emily Harris 16217 at http://wuot.org Russian Troops Continue Movements In Crimea http://wuot.org/post/russian-troops-continue-movements-crimea As the standoff continues in Crimea, Russia warns the U.S. against "hasty" sanctions. Ukraine officials accuse pro-Russian forces of armed aggression. Sun, 09 Mar 2014 12:19:00 +0000 Emily Harris 15624 at http://wuot.org Western Diplomats Visit Kiev, Bringing Few Answers With Them http://wuot.org/post/western-diplomats-visit-kiev-bringing-few-answers-them Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. We begin this hour in Ukraine where Russian troops took control of more areas in Crimea today, including a ferry terminal between the Ukrainian peninsula and Russia. Western countries are strategizing a response to the crisis with many meetings and several high level visits to Ukraine. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:42:00 +0000 Emily Harris 15399 at http://wuot.org A Greek Treasure Pulled From The Sea Disappears Again In Gaza http://wuot.org/post/greek-treasure-pulled-sea-disappears-again-gaza On a sunny Friday in August last year, Judah Abughorab paddled a small, flat boat over the blue Mediterranean Sea about 100 yards off the Gaza Strip's sandy shore.<p>He doesn't really like to eat fish, but catching them is the unemployed construction worker's favorite pastime.<p>That day, he netted a half a dozen. Then, through the clear water, he spotted something that made him look again.<p>"It looked like a person," he says. "Eyes, a face, hands, fingers."<p>Abughorab says he was scared, but dived 5 yards down to have a closer look. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:07:00 +0000 Emily Harris 15270 at http://wuot.org A Greek Treasure Pulled From The Sea Disappears Again In Gaza Building Pressure May Mean Progress In Israeli Peace Talks http://wuot.org/post/building-pressure-may-mean-progress-israeli-peace-talks Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>There is a fake John Kerry wandering around Jerusalem these days. He stars in several satirical videos criticizing the U.S. effort to negotiate a peace agreement between Israeli and Palestinian leaders. The State Department suggests it is just the latest sign that Kerry has put real pressure on Israel to move toward a peace deal. NPR's Emily Harris reports.<p>EMILY HARRIS, BYLINE: John Kerry, the satire star, is skinny with a big poof of grey hair. The theme of the videos, he doesn't understand the conflict he's trying to solve. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Emily Harris 14554 at http://wuot.org Even Among Their Own, Consensus Eludes Israelis And Palestinians http://wuot.org/post/even-among-their-own-consensus-eludes-israelis-and-palestinians Disputes between Palestinians and Israelis are a constant in their decades-old conflict, and that's what the wider world usually hears about.<p>But there are also near constant internal disagreements among Israelis. And Palestinians have divergent views too. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Emily Harris 14341 at http://wuot.org Even Among Their Own, Consensus Eludes Israelis And Palestinians Scarlett Johansson's Middle East Flap ... Over Soda http://wuot.org/post/scarlett-johanssons-middle-east-flap-over-soda <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxq4ziu-wrI</p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 22:32:00 +0000 Emily Harris 14112 at http://wuot.org Scarlett Johansson's Middle East Flap ... Over Soda