Mandalit del Barco http://wuot.org en Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://wuot.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 17448 at http://wuot.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies Sony Pictures To Lay Off Interactive Group http://wuot.org/post/sony-pictures-lay-interactive-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with Hollywood layoffs.<p>Sony has notified California's Labor Board that come June it will lay off more than 200 employees at its movie and television studios.<p>NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports this is happening in a film industry that's facing across the board cost cutting.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: Sony Pictures Entertainment will reportedly lay off its entire interactive marketing team responsible for online movie promos like this.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE PROMO)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Officials searching for answers as to wh Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 16064 at http://wuot.org Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://wuot.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 15126 at http://wuot.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam http://wuot.org/post/sunday-assembly-church-godless-picks-steam It sometimes <em>feels</em> like church in the auditorium of the Professional Musicians union in Hollywood. It's a Sunday morning, and hundreds of people are gathered to meditate, sing and listen to inspirational poetry and stories.<p>But then the live band starts up — performing songs by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 13158 at http://wuot.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://wuot.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:56:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 11530 at http://wuot.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://wuot.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 11474 at http://wuot.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play http://wuot.org/post/comcast-deal-puts-new-minority-run-channels-play Rapper and producer Sean "Diddy" Combs, director Robert Rodriguez, and basketball legend Magic Johnson each now has his own new cable TV networks. Their channels were part of a merger deal Comcast made with the FCC to give a shot to new networks owned by African Americans, Latinos and others.<p>Last month, Combs threw on his classic Puff Daddy alias to welcome millennial viewers to his new music network, Revolt.<p>"This is really happening, people," the rapper said at the launch. "A boy from Harlem is really standing on a stoop in Brooklyn launching a network worldwide. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 10873 at http://wuot.org Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play 1 In 7 American Adults Don't Go Online http://wuot.org/post/1-7-american-adults-dont-go-online Fifteen percent of Americans don't use the Internet, according to a survey by the Pew Research Center. Most of these "offline adults" are 65 years old or older, many live in rural areas and have incomes lower than $30,000 a year. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 09:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 8814 at http://wuot.org In 'Dads,' Fox Uses Offensive Humor As A Selling Point http://wuot.org/post/fox-uses-offensive-humor-dads-selling-point Fox's new sitcom Dads features unflattering images and jokes about Asian-Americans, Latinos and women. Fox is promoting the film by embracing all the criticism that calls it offensive. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 20:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 8415 at http://wuot.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood http://wuot.org/post/east-la-homegirl-goes-hollywood Evangeline Ordaz is no ordinary Hollywood show runner. When she's not teaching constitutional law or rehabbing historic buildings, she's writing for a racy soap opera about <a href="http://eastloshigh.com/" target="_blank">Latino teens in East Los Angeles</a>. <em>East Los High</em> was a big summer success for the TV-on-demand website Hulu, and much of the credit for keeping the show real goes to its multitalented main writer.<p>Ordaz was born and bred in East Los Angeles — East Los, as it's known. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 21:05:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 8254 at http://wuot.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood